Categories
Tips & Tricks

Delete content of a file using Truncate

There are times when we need to remove content from a file from our server space. Especially, those unwanted log content which are produced on the fly by your codes on purpose.

To my experience, some logs that are already checked should be deleted to save server space.

Note that when the log file exceeds the maximum file size defined in the configuration, it created another new one and rename the previous one to be something like domain.com.error.log.1, domain.com.error.log.2, and so on.

To remove those backup logs, just excecute the command

rm domain.com.error.log.*

To delete the content of the domain.com.error.log file, run the following command:

truncate -s 0 domain.com.error.log

By Vannkorn

I am a WordPress lover. I make my living using WordPress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *